TREVOR PROJECT AWARENESS TOUR WITH BILL KONIGSBERG

I’m so excited to announce that I’m hitting the road this September, visiting 18 locations through the South and Midwest. The tour, called The Trevor Project Awareness Tour with Bill Konigsberg, will raise funds for The Trevor Project, the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning (LGBTQ) young people ages 13-24.

Specifically, all funds raised will benefit TrevorSpace, a safe social networking site for LGBTQ youth ages 13 through 24 and their friends and allies.

For more information on the tour, click here.

To donate, click here.

All donations go directly to The Trevor Project.

Along the way, I will be writing about my experience for The Huffington Post’s Gay Voices blog.

Here is my itinerary:

Tuesday, September 8: Youth First, Resource Center, 3918 Harry Hines, Dallas, TX, 7pm

Wednesday, September 9: Pasadena High School, Pasadena, TX (closed event)

Friday, September 11: Center for Artistic Revolution, LMH Youth Drop-in Center, 800 Scott St., Little Rock, AR, 7pm

Saturday, September 12: Magic City Acceptance Center, 412 37th St. South, Birmingham, AL, 7pm

Monday, September 14: Pride School Atlanta, at the UUCA, 1911 Cliff Valley Way NE (enter on I-85N Access Road)

Tuesday, September 15: Oasis Center, 1704 Charlotte Ave, Suite 200, Nashville, TN, 4:30-8:30pm

Thursday, Sept. 17: Bloomington Prism Youth Group, Pourhouse Cafe (314 E. Kirkwood Ave.), basement community rooms, Bloomington, IN, 7pm 

Friday, Sept. 18: Whitman Walker Clinic, Washington, DC, 7pm

Tuesday, Sept. 22: Saline High School, Saline, MI (closed event)

Wednesday, Sept. 23: Robert W. Sneden Center Auditorium, Davenport University, Grand Rapids, MI, noon

Thursday, Sept. 24: Allegan High School, Allegan, MI (closed event)

Friday, Sept. 25: Alliance High School, Milwaukee, WI (closed event)

Sunday, Sept. 27: Trinity Episcopal Church, 600 N. Euclid Ave., St. Louis, MO, 5pm (Growing American Youth and Prime Timers joint event)

Monday, Sept. 28: St. Louis Public Library, 1301 Olive St., St. Louis, MO, 7pm 

Tuesday, Sept. 29: Urban Abbey, 1026 Jackson St., Omaha, NE, 7pm 

Wednesday, Sept. 30: Rochester MN (closed event)

Thursday, Oct. 1: Hennepin County, MN (closed event)

Monday, Oct. 5: Watermark Books, 4701 East Douglas, Wichita, KS, 6pm

All events are free, and while I’m most interested in receiving donations online, I will accept checks made out to The Trevor Project at each event.

Of course, the biggest part of this trip is about meeting and connecting with young people and sharing our stories. I want every young LGBTQ person in this country to know that they are not alone.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s